UnReFiNeD

May 1, 2010

They’re PURPLE I tell you!

Nothing against the Russians, but they must be color-blind, because these potatoes are PURPLE!

Photobucket

Wow. Look at that. It just feels wrong, doesn’t it? But they taste perfectly normal. And they are a beautiful shade of purple! I wish I could dye my clothes with them… For an informative and entertaining description of Russian Blue potatoes, visit The Cracked Pot.

Photobucket

This is actually the first time I use Russian Blues so I didn’t really know what to expect. They were hiding in the corner of the cellar, calling to me. There’s not many left so I figured I should try them out. I’m glad I did! I made hashbrowns with them, but the browning from the cooking process messes with their color (Well, I don’t peel them so that doesn’t help either). I’ve seen a picture of mashed Blue Russians and they were a beautiful light lavender color.

Photobucket

This funky fella was hiding in a fabric bag, look at ‘im go!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I kept coming across recipes for “Kale Chips” online, something that intrigued me because of its simple instructions and rave reviews. I had some left over kale and decided to make a batch for Robin.

Photobucket

Rave reviews indeed. He thinks they’re amazing, without the bite that raw kale is infamous for. He, like many others, says they make a great chip substitute. Try it out!

~Kale Chips~

Ingredients: 1/2 bunch kale, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp lemon juice and a little bit of sea salt.

Directions: Rinse the kale and shred it into pieces. Stir the olive oil, lemon juice and sea salt together in a bowl. Add the kale to the bowl and coat the leaves with the dressing with your hands. Lay out on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees celcius for 10-15 minutes. Take them out when they get crispy but before they start to brown.

I would recommend the Cheesy Kale Chips, they are really addictive!: 6 (kind of packed) cups of shredded kale, 3 tbsp – 1/4 cup nutritional yeast, 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil, 1 tsp water, and 1/4 tsp sea salt (or a bit less).

I’ve tried kale a couple of times in my life, and recently too, but I just can’t get into it… It’s just so strong and bitter! I think this might be the only way I’d enjoy them. I wonder how they would turn out without oil…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Something else I made for Robin: Raw almond butter with a sliced apple, laid out as a rose.

Photobucket

The raw almond butter was expensive but it was a treat for Robin. I’ll be making my own almond butter once this jar runs out. Not with raw almonds, but with almonds nonetheless! I’m looking forward to it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Katie is having yet another neat giveaway! Check out her blog for more information.

2 Comments »

  1. I love raw almond butter!! And foods in colors (like purple potatoes or cauliflower) make them so make better just because of the variety of colors. :)

    Thanks for the entries into the giveaway!!

    Comment by Ashlei — May 4, 2010 @ 11:41 am

    • I agree, all that colorful produce brings our plate of food to life! I have yet to try out exotic-colored cauliflower. Actually, I think I’ve only had cauliflower once in my life…

      Comment by Kate — May 4, 2010 @ 1:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Banana Smoothie Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

